Located in the north-east of Ortisei, San Giacomo extends in sun-drenched location and boasts an ancient pilgrimage church.
The village of San Giacomo, also called Sacun, extends at the southern slope of the Monte Pic in the east of Ortisei. The hamlet consists of several mountain farms and residences and is located at 1,420 m asl, about 150 m beneath the famous S. Giacomo church boasting beautiful historic frescos.
San Giacomo is traversed by the historic high-altitude path Troi Paian to Funes, the road that once upon a time connected Venice to the Valle Isarco and Valgardena. The former importance of this transition explains the fact that exactly in this place you can find the most ancient churches of Valgardena.
The most ancient preserved document in which the church of S. Giacomo is mentioned, dates back to the year 1283, refers to the house of prayer as piilgrimage site. By now it has been clarified that the church of S. Giacomo is at least 100 years older than reported by this document. As a matter of fact, it had to be rebuilt in the 15th century in consequence of a lightning strike.
However, San Giacomo is a popular destination for people looking for a sun-drenched place to rest. Great importance is attached to nature and spirituality, which stands for rest and recreation for body and soul.